College Graduation Attire

Almost everyday weather I am on the train to school or at work, someone asks me if I am African.  I would have loved to originate from the mother land but my parents are west indian.  I am a mix of several Caribbean islands but I would consider myself mostly Jamaican and Basian.

At times when I wear my hot pink lipstick I do see African-like features in my face and with my natural hair I favor a women of African descent.  For my second college graduation I want to wear something VERY DIFFERENT and original.

I decided to have a dress custom made for me out  of kente cloth.  I went to  The Bola International Boutique today in Harlem located at 2 West 125th street to create the perfect outfit for me.  I have a 29 inch waist and 52 inch hips so it is extremely difficult to find dresses that fit my top and bottom.  Besides, my graduation is means for a custom made outfit.

Upon arrival a gentleman let me choose my fabric from their wide variety and this was a tough decision.  There were several patterns that caught my eye and I was very indecisive and changed my mind four times but I chose fabric that I felt would stand out and make me pop.  I brought a print out of what I wanted and was measured on the spot.  He drew up a very reasonable quote for me and I was out the door feeling confident that I will reieve just what I asked for.  I am super excited to pick up my dress in a week.

Here is a look at the fabric that I chose

IMG_20140507_110411_690I can’t wait to try on the finished product.

 

Leave a Reply

