Apple Cider Vinegar for the Scalp

For a long as I can remember I have suffered from a severely dry scalp.  I always had to grease my scalp and keep my hair moisturized if I wanted to avoid flaking.  Since going natural I have been using black castor oil for my scalp and it has been working wonders. Its 100% natural and its thick enough to coat my scalp with the right amount of moisture and I have been flake free thus far.  The weather has kept me home bound for the past few days and I ran out of castor oil and just as i thought…. FLAKES!!!!! I used apple cider vinegar twice in the past and it works better than any over the counter product that I have used that promises flake free hair.  Best of all, it can be purchased at your local grocery store for less than $3.  You can’t beat that.

The process:  I mixed half apple cider vinegar and half water into a plastic bottle and shook it up.  I poured a generous amount onto my dry hair and let it soak in for 10 minutes covered with a shower cap.  The only downside to this process is the strong odor of vinegar but it goes away after you rinse it out and it can sting a little.  Not a bad sting like the burning sensation of a relaxer but it’s noticeable.  Afterwards I rinsed it out and did my usual shampoo and conditioner followed by my Bantu knots to set my hair for tomorrow.  Below are the before and after pictures.

get-attachment

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. isleofazure
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 02:05:54

    Nice girl, super squeaky clean and your tresses are glistening, just proves that apple cider does work and well 😀
    Smiles!!!

    Reply

  2. heynaturalbeauties
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 17:30:50

    I adore ACV it’s one of natures many miracles. I drink it, rinse my hair, use it as a toner, clean my bathroom with it lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

