Embrace Your Natural Beauty

I have officially made it through 2 weeks of rocking my natural hair in public as well as at work. I must admit that I was extremely nervous to go to work after 7 years without some sort of extensions. The paranoia was all in my head because I have not heard one negative comment nor have I seen anyone stare at me like I was a mad woman. I have been getting compliments from complete strangers and it feel absolutely amazing to have my horn tooted by people I have never seen a day in my life.

I have been wearing my hair in a Bantu knot out since I have taken out my kinky twists. I will start experimenting with different styles and show you my end results as well as relay feedback that I receive from the public. My short cut suits me well and even though I have to twist it every night before bed I would not go back to a relaxer EVER!!!!! As my hair continues to grow I worry about the time it will take to prep my hairstyles once it gets longer. I am so glad that I made this decision and had the courage to flaunt my God-given hair shamelessly.

Until next time =)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The RoyalTee Affairs
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 01:46:55

    Congratulations and good for you. I felt the same way and now I feel my natural hair journey is just beginning and I’m looking forward to reaching my healthy natural hair journey.

    Reply

    • AyshaMichelle
      Jan 01, 2014 @ 01:54:36

      Thank you so much. I am glad that I am not the only one who was a bit anxious about what other people thought of my natural hair. I can’t to wait to see what this journey has in store for me but I have a feeling that there are great things to come. Best of luck with your tresses =)

      Reply

  2. isleofazure
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 21:49:27

    Lovely girl, two weeks, fantastic!!!!!!! Now that is a record, because it took me a long time to figure how to do that one but never been happier, congratulations my dear. Yes as she gets longer, it is more time but worth 1,000,0000,000 %!!!! πŸ˜€
    You look so cute in your pictures, rock that hair girl.
    Smiles!!!!

    Reply

    • AyshaMichelle
      Jan 01, 2014 @ 22:04:32

      thanx so much. long hair looks nice but styling seems like it’ll take forever thank you for reading.

      =)

      Reply

      • isleofazure
        Jan 01, 2014 @ 22:10:17

        Hehehe, I know, that is why I only wash and style twice a month, takes me 5 hours for all process and that is great because used to take me from 6 to 7 hours, crazy right :D, in these next 3 months, hope to do it in 4 so shall see. Love reading your blog πŸ™‚
        Smiles!!!

  3. Nomzi Kumalo
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 14:59:10

    Fantastic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

