Makeup Brush Cleaning 101

I must admit that I am super guilty of prolonging the process of cleaning my make-up brushes.  There are tons of make-up brush cleaners, solutions and washes that can get the job done but why spend a ton when you can save quite a few coins?  I have a 3 month old nephew and my sister has travel sized bottles on Johnson’s baby products.  I keep my brushes with me at all times in my make-up bag so last night after giving the baby a bath I used some of his baby wash to wash my make-up brushes ( I’m sure he didn’t mind).

johnson

Why should I bother cleaning my make-up brushes?

Make-up as well as the brushes and sponges we use to apply them carry bacteria, dirt,oil and germs.  After one use we are exposed to all the gross things that we cannot see with the naked eye.  I am quite sure you don’t want to have old make-up and dead skin cells on your freshly caked face.  The longer you wait the tougher the bristles will get and there’s no feeling like the gentle brush of freshly cleaned bristles.

Why not just use regular anti-bacterial soap?

Regular soap carries harsh chemicals. Sure it will get the job done but your brushes can and will dry out and those soft bristles will fall out soon after.  Baby wash is gentle and tear-free so it will cleanse your brushes without drying them out.

How often should I do this?

Once a week to say the least.  I wear make-up everyday no matter where I’m going or what my plans are so it’s best to prevent build-up and have healthy skin.

The Process

1. Wet a sponge and brushes with warm water.

2. Squeeze a small amount of baby wash onto the sponge and swirl your brush onto the sponge working up a good lather.

3. Rinse out soap from brush with warm water.

4. Gently squeeze out excess water from the brush and lay brushes flat on a dry paper towel to dry over night.

Make-up brushes are an investment and should be kept in tip top shape.  The cleaning process is simple and inexpensive so don’t avoid it or delay the process.  Your face will thank you.

Until next time =)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. isleofazure
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 18:36:49

    Thank you, will do this now with my brushes. Have a lovely sunday evening.
    Smiles!!!

    Reply

  2. AyshaMichelle
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 00:07:03

    Thank you. My brushes were so soft and fluffy the next morning.
    =)

    Reply

  3. Trackback: 5 Things for You to Clean Today | Pepperminting

Leave a Reply

